Breaking up is hard to do.  Isn’t it just like the universe when everything seems to be going so great to throw a bit of a wrench into things?  I feel like I have been on a bit of a roll lately, learning new things, engaging in exciting opportunities, enjoying the world and what it  has to offer…..This week I found out that my position at my school for next year may not be renewed due to enrollment.  The old, its not you its me.  I’ve heard that before, shoot, I have said it before.  And it took me by surprise because things have been going so well.  I have been with my school for four years, we had our ups and downs but at the end of the day it’s where I want to be.

So I don’t want to break up.  Now, I have broken up before, with guys, with friends, with apartments, with schools, even with cities.  It’s hard.  You get to a point when you are so comfortable you can’t imagine it any other way, you only remember the good things, all the fun, all the laughs and slowly forget the bad times and the things that you wish you could change about the other. It seems only time and distance let us see the past in real focus.  Trust me I know I’ve changed too.  I am ready to try new ideas, get out of the mundane teaching habits, bring in new things.  It’s what twitter PLN has done to me.  I don’t blame twitter, in fact twitter had nothing to do with this situation, except maybe prepare me for a break out instead of a break up.  Because maybe it is me.

Break out new ideas, break out new collaborations, break out a new school or a new grade.  Break out some fresh views, shed the old and try on the new. So if this is really over, I may not be ready for it, but I know I have a lot to offer the next relationship and who knows maybe the next one will offer me more than I can even imagine.

